12597412-carrot-parsley-broccoli-and-leeks-on-a-white-background

With the cold weather upon us, weekly soups have re-entered my cooking repertoire.
My first one of the season was a Roasted Sweet Potato Soup and then a Leek and Potato Soup, the latter surprisingly this time welcomed by all in the household. (I really thought my husband and I would have to eat through the batch ourselves).

One thing I discovered a few years ago when making a batch of Broccoli Soup was how the dish is presented to a child will make a world of difference on whether it will be accepted or not. Broccoli Soup is a hit and frequently requested because I introduced it to my boys as HULK SOUP! Now which boy wouldn’t love that??

While these green soups have won over my children, sadly my sweet potato soup is not one of their favs. Perhaps because they don’t like sweet potatoes much or perhaps because I didn’t come up with an amazing or superhero related name to give to it!

Leek and Potato Soup (a.k.a Green Lantern soup)

2-3 tablespoons butter
3 stalks of leeks – green and white parts – washed cut in half down the centre and then chopped
1 small onion – white or yellow
3 medium potatoes
6 cups broth (vegetable or chicken)
thyme
salt
pepper

1. Place butter in pot and turn on stove to low. Once butter starts to melt add in diced onion and leeks. Stir till coated lightly with butter.
2. Add in diced potatoes. Mix together and let simmer for a few minutes still leeks start to turn darker green and onions soften.
3. Add thyme (1-2 tsp)
4. Add salt and pepper to taste
5. Add broth and bring to a boil. Reduce to medium and continue to cook for 20-30 mins until potatoes can cut through easily.
6. Puree in blender or use an immersion blender.

Serve with croutons.

Enjoy!

Image Source: 123RF.com

